November 29, 2007

Yes I am still playing Oblivion but I still take time out of my busy schedule to update this blog everyday. I know, I know, I am amazing right? I know some people don’t update their blog everyday but I want to be different!

Yesterday, I said that they still sell floppy drives and disks. Well, I was thinking… Are floppis still useful? Think of the flash drive which is the floppy drive of today. What if we stuck to floppies making them able to hold as much as a DVD? The floppy drive was also good in a way because it helped keep file sizes smaller for stuff like documents.

The documents on my Acer are a good 10MB of pretty much stuff for this site. Yes, I do save the old pages in word documents on my laptop. Why? Simple: backup. If my server ever crashed I do have HTML files on the laptop too but I like to have the word files as well just in case.

Ok… I got a little distracted but we are back on course now. This had me thinking. Are old computers still useful? Now, I don’t mean old like Pentium 2 only. I mean old as in the old Macs. They are still somewhat useful really. Hell, even an old PDA is still useful if you know what it can really do. Here are some good examples of uses for old computers and PDAs.

Classic Gaming Yes, I know I have a PlayStation 3 but sometimes I like to just play something like Zelda. (Yes, I own all of the old Zelda cartridges…) If I had a old 68k Mac I could probably find some games for that too. Just because the games are old doesn’t mean that they aren’t fun anymore. Some of the old games are actually more fun then the new ones.

I like to play games on my PDA a lot too. Just because that PDA may be something old like an OS 4 Clie can sometimes make the game more fun by bringing back memories. Back when I was a freshman in high school I loved study hall. Why? I would play games on my SJ33 for 45 minutes and no one cared.

Typing I use my NEC to type up some blog entry stuff once and while. If you have something like an older Mac or even a Windows 3.1 machine, there is at the very least a text editor. If you have a way to get the file off the machine, you can open the text file on a modern computer.

I have typed parts of a blog entry in a Mac System 7 emulation before and just used software to get the file onto Windows. Why? Why not? If you can get the file to your computer, have a little fun with your work! Even the classic Macs had an office suite.

Lets say that your still a student… Why not go on the web and get something like my NEC? The newer ones (the 900c was the last if I remember correctly) can run better software including an office suite that is as good as a desktop one.

Collections Ever see someone with an old computer collection? I love seeing peoples collections but I get so jealous. I love seeing when someone has like 20 laptops. Of course some people are crazy with their collections though!

Dad got home late today so we had McDonalds again! Yum! The weather for this weekend looks good. One place said HEAVY snow! The other said wintery mix. This will be on the Sunday entry of course.

Leave a comment